Tuesday, April 29, 2008

"The Movie Show"

So we decided to be brave, courageous, or just plaim dumb (depending on how you look at it) and take Cayden to his first movie. He's been mentioning Dr. Suess a lot lately, and everytime we see a commercial for Horton hears a Who, he gets excited. We decided to go on Friday night. We took Emalee to stay with her grammy and grampy. The movies started at 7:00 pm and 9:15pm. We figured earlier was better, but we also needed to feed him dinner before the movie started. Matt gets home at 6:15 from work. We quickly went to dinner and then headed to the movie. It was late, about 7:45 pm when we got our tickets, but we didn't care because we figured he wouldn't last through a 2 hour movie anyway. This turned out to be a good plan. He had fun, but he was definitely bored within 30 minutes. He wasn't heavy enough to keep the seat down, and it kept folding up him if he moved a certain way. We would hear this muffled, "help, help." I imagine Cayden's thoughts were something like this:

Oh Wow. I love the big screen. Wow cool. I like the dark. The movie is loud so I can be loud too. Everyone keeps laughing when I shout back at the characters. I am drinking mommy's real coke to help entertain me, and she doesn't seem to care. This is great! I am eating gummy bears and drinking coke. I like this place. Let's see if I can take handfuls of daddy's popcorn and shove them into mommy's mouth. This is fun... the popcorn is going everywhere... I am making a hell of a mess and nobody cares. Everyone just throws their junk of the floor, and you can be loud inside, and eat a ton of sugar... The "Movie Show" rocks!

The "movie show" is what Cayden calls the movies. Not sure why, but that is his term for the big screen. All in all, it was a fun night for all of us... kind of nice to have a special night with just Cayden. We'll make sure Emalee gets her share of special nights too.

Friday, April 25, 2008

Mac and Cheese Good

This pic is from Easter week, but its just too cute, Avery is always a big fan of Mac and Cheese, apparently so much so, that it takes 4 fingers to shove in more when you already have a mouth full. He would eat that and hot dogs every day if allowed.

Extra Fussy with a Side Order of Grouch

Did someone order a bad day for Mommy? Both of my children were so cranky before nap. Good thing Avery is so good natured. He has been a doll yesterday and today. Cayden is just getting over an ear infection (been on his antibiotic drops for 4 days) so he's fine, but he is also cutting his first 2 year molar. Princess Pea (Emmie) is cutting both of her top front teeth. The bumps are big and swollen. She's a doll 24-7, so she's allowed to be cranky from time to time. They are all 3 snoozing at the moment, so I am catching up on a little laundry, having my second cup of coffee, and taking time for a few more postings to catch you all up. I said I was going to do a better job of keeping current, but you know, promises, promises. I would rather be watching some mindless TV and drinking a starbucks chai tea... but laundry beckons as it is waist high in the laundry room, and CAFE FOLGERS is much easier on the wallet.

It's mine, and I have proof!

So yesterday, Emalee found a binky on the floor - it was Avery's nap time binky (he only gets them for napping.) She took to it and cried when I took it from her. She hasn't wanted a binky since she was about 4 days old, she sucks her two first fingers on her right hand. She is now almost 10 months. I washed it off, and gave it back to her. She used it like a teether. After about 10 minutes of pure delight, her brother came into the room and took it from her. Cayden said, mine. I told him it was not his, that he is a big boy and binks are for babies. He smiled and gave it back to her. (stupid me, I thought this was the end of it. Cayden hasn't had a bink in about 7 months.)

About 30 minutes later we are hanging out down stairs, Emmie was in her bouncer with the binky and Cayden was watching Handy Manny while I went into the kitchen to make their breakfast. This is when Cayden comes strolling into the kitchen with the binky in his mouth. I said, "Cayden that is not yours." He takes my hand and leads me over to the fridge where there is a picture of him with a binky in his mouth as a baby, he points to the picture, and says "see Mommy, I told you it was mine."

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Beach Trip







So we had our first family of four beach trip week before last. The amount of stuff you have to pack when you have a baby and a 2 year old to leave home for a week is unreal. Good thing we sucumbed to the "2 child van pressure" and purchased a mini van a few months back. I always swore I would never own a mini van... but now that I have one, I don't recall how we functioned without one. The main thing that made us bite the bullet and get one, is that I am now keeping Avery five days a week. 3 car seats would not fit in either car, so I went ahead and bought the van to keep from being trapped within these four walls. With 3 kids under 3, there are just somtimes you need 2 ride 4 fries. Sanity baby, its all about getting a little sanity. French fries and a 9 inch video screen that drops from the ceiling will get you about twenty minutes of peace and quiet when you need it. Hubby says we definitely could not have fit all that beach garb into one of the other cars, so I guess the Toyota Sienna was a great purchase after all.




The beach was good. The kids had a good time together (we went with my brother, his wife, and his 2 kids - who are 5 and almost 3.) There were a few funny things that happened, on Thursday night about 1:30 in the morning, I hear "mommy, mommy" followed by a sound that could only be projectile vomiting. I opened my eyes to see the orange spray shooting across my face... I was on my feet before I knew where I was or what my name is... Cayden had gotten out of his bed and come to get me... apparently he wasn't feeling so well. You can't fault him for puking on me since he's only 2... he has no idea just how rude that is. Anyway, I used to do the same thing. I remember being like 10 and going to get Dana because I was sick, I puked a little trail from my bedroom all the way to hers... and managed to puke in her bedroom slippers at the foot of her bed on my way. She didn't realize the slippers were puked in until she slid her feet in to them to come and get me. After everything was cleaned up and I was feeling better, she told me how much better it would be if I could head to the bathroom when I was sick, and she would hear me puking and come take care of me there. Cayden's evening of puking was only the ending of a crazy turn of events... earlier that day my brother, Channa, and I had sunburned ourselves at the beach... having had to bring our sheets to the rental house, I only had one set for the bed in my room. Once Cayden had puked on them, I had to strip the bed and go back to bed on beach towels... not so comfortable on sunburned skin... I might as well have been trying to sleep on sand paper! Not that I got much sleep anyway as Cayden puked off and on until 5 AM. Earlier that day I had also broken my toe on the coffee table. I reinjured it while jumping out of bed to avoid the spray of puke that night. We ended up laughing about it all... and everyone had fun anyway.