Thursday, March 25, 2010

Tequila & Toilet Paper

I went out for coffee this morning, and ended up at a tequila bar before noon. This is what happens when you meet up with an old friend you haven't seen in a while. Especially, if it's Tiina Taylor, or any one remotely Euro2000. (That's just for you, Tiina!)

We polished off a few Starbuck's coffees of the day, (mine with an add shot - cause I'm not as perky as I used to be) - and then headed out in search of a little retail therapy. In a sea of nail salons, tanning beds, and hair salons, we could find NOT one single shop. Thus, we ended up entering a tequila bar with the name CANS. Okay, don't be put off by the name, it was actually a great place. I know, it conjures up a nauseating memory of being a teen and hearing some 50 year old man say "nice cans" about some girl half his age, or maybe it even makes you think of a roadside restroom. BUT, this CANS is a wonderful taqueria, which is a restaurant specializing in Mexican dishes, such as tacos or burritos. Thank you, Wikipedia!

Since we didn't find any shops, we decided to have an early lunch. I mean, when life gives you lemons, have them with tequila! We shared a wonderful pork quesadilla with carmelized onion, served with cilantro rice and black beans. It was light and refreshing. Mexican? Light? Yes, really! Don't get me wrong, I could eat Mexican cuisine daily, but this was truly the lighter fare you always hear is authentic. Not being Mexican, I can't swear this is totally authentic, but it was absolutely LIGHT & DELICIOUS! And Carlos, the resident bartender, was a heavy pour with the pineapple infused sipping tequila! Of course, we limited ourselves to one, because when you are drinking before noon, one drink = three. Live by this rule, people. It has always served me well. Of course, Tiina being Finnish, it was 5:00 in Finland, but she decided to stick with my rule.

Another cool thing about CANS (sorry I can't say it without giggling. It's that sixth grade toilet humor, it's never left me! And for those of you who thought I was classy, the cat is out of the bag.) - they serve KIDS for FREE - all the time. Food, that is, not liquor of course. With every paying adult, up to 2 kids can eat FREE. Of course, you probably shouldn't sit at the bar with the kids... And finally, the rest rooms were even beautiful, and they had premium toilet paper!

So, if you can forgive them for picking a random name, not appropriately suited to a classy place, you should give it a try. It gets a total thumbs up from me!

Peace, love, and Tequila!

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Why the Saints will win the Super Bowl

I am predicting the Saints will win. Yes, I'm a chick. My football knowledge is limited, especially when it comes to NFL. I was raised in the South, and it's all about college ball down here. SEC baby, it's a religion! That being said, my prediction has nothing to do with observed data, previously played games, defensive line ups, or bookmakers predictions. It's everything to do with heart. Football to me is family fun time, gather round, root on your team, share some libations, and some great food. The super bowl is largely about food and commercials.

If you know me well, you might be surprised at my pick of the Saints to win. Yes, I am rooting for the Colts. Here's my reasoning: My first team in NFL loyalty goes to the New England Patriots. What? A Georgia girl can be a PATS fan? Well yes, that's what happens when you marry a guy from Mass. And let's be real people, Tom Brady is by far the best looking quarterback in the game. A girl needs something to keep her interest. Tight white pants will only get you to half time, but Tom's dreamy eyes and chin dimple go all the way to over time. My second NFL team is the Falcons, because a girl has to remain loyal to the home team. Even though when I was growing up, my parents were huge Braves fans, and we even made it to some Atlanta Flames hockey games. Remember them? NFL? Not so much. It's all about the SEC, wait I said that already. The Colts are my 3rd favorite NFL team, and that is because of Peyton Manning, though he wore a #16 when I truly loved him. GO VOLS!

Okay, I'll be the first to admit, Peyton Manning can be mildy annoying. He's actually quite a humble guy, but he does wear a half-smile type of smirk that can make him look aloof and superior. The oreo commercial is not good. However, one of the sports channels was airing the 1997 SEC championship game at 5:30 this morning, and while channel surfing, I actually watched it. It was a great game! 30-29 over Auburn, played right here in the dome. Lovely. I fell in love with Peyton all over again. Peyton may have a deep-seated love for New Orleans, but trust me, he will only be thinking about one thing out there on Sunday: Beating the Saints, furthering his quest to become the greatest quarterback of all time. A second super bowl ring couldn't hurt, and you can bet that's what he'll be gunning for.

Now, back to how I ended up picking Payton over Peyton: New Orleans could use this win. It's a great town, a town that could use a boost! It's the first place I ever gambled, or met a little person dealer. Cards people, not drugs. The Saints have never won a super bowl. It's human nature to pull for the under dog. So today, I pick the Saints to win. And either way, I'll feel happy. This is one super bowl I can't lose. It will not be like the year the PATS lost to the Giants ending the PATS quest for a perfect season, on my son's 2nd birthday. Nope, it won't be anything like that. Praise the Heavens!

Thursday, February 4, 2010

vaguebooking

So I read about vaguebooking on urban dictionary.com. Their definition is:

An intentionally vague Facebook status update, that prompts friends to ask what's going on, or is possibly a cry for help? Example of vaguebooking: Mary "wonders if it's all worth it."


It's the modern day version of sighing out loud, dropping hints that you want someone to ask how things are, a plea for attention. How many vaguebookers do you know? There are a few in my circle. Are you guilty ?
If you think about it, everyone garners for attention in some fashion. Buying a new blouse, changing our hair color, blogging, twittering about dinner at the new hot spot = all forms of sharing information with others in the hope of response. Response to our actions satisfies that basic human need to connect with others. I mean, you don't see animals behaving this way. Fido isn't going to be sharing with all his friends where the new female basset hound in heat is located. He doesn't have a need for a pat on the back, a high five, or simply concern from his four pawed pals. Human connection, love and support of others, it's what we all want. Is vaguebooking the new way to get it?

Monday, February 1, 2010

For Real?

Like I am going to open an email from Homeezneedfreeporn@noreply.com. Seriously people. How much time do you have?

Friday, January 29, 2010

So I listed my daughter on e-bay...

Not really, but it was a brief fleeting thought. What can I say? Today has been "one of those days." Toddlers are funny, and oh - so cute! This is what allows them to live long enough to start school. I am totally joking, for those who don't know me well enough to be sure. I don't need a DFACS case started. I love my daughter, and could never part with her, but she's been using my last nerve like a trampoline since 7:00 am. It was five o'clock somewhere at 3:00 pm in Canton today.


Tuesday, July 7, 2009

The passing of MJ

Ok, I'll admit it. I hadn't given Michael Jackson much thought in recent years. I kind of thought he was a great musician who had unfortunately taken a turn for the worse and would probably be in jail if he hadn't forked up $20 million dollars to settle lawsuits over child molestation. I think now that I was wrong about that. I really don't know what to believe, but I do know this: It's better to just see the best in someone. If you don't have proof of allegations, pay them no mind. It's too bad that we don't see the best in someone often until they are gone. From what I've seen in the news recently, I would say that Michael Jackson is a person who saw the best in everyone because as Brook Shields said in her eulogy "he looked with his heart and not his eyes." God rest his tortured soul, maybe he is finally at peace.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Things I did today

Today I:

cleaned up the kitchen

went through my coupons

swapped the furniture in Cayden and Emalee's room around

did two loads of whites

ate 2 small squares of lovely dark chocolate

played in the garden with the kids while Matt planted some corn

thought about mopping, but decided I was not up to the task

read "If you take a Mouse to the Movies" for the 10,000th time

pushed Emalee as high as humany possible on the swing

changed the sheets in the guest bedroom

downloaded a sangria recipe

created my shopping list for this weekend's celebration party

ordered a cake from Publix

received loads of hugs from my wonderful children

listened to a fair amount of whining and crying (and no, not my own.)

chatted with an old friend on facebook

had a "special coffee"

Well those are the highlights! Good night world.